Leave a comment

Calling all young photographers!

If you are a budding young photographer and would love the chance to win some amazing prizes in return for your animal snaps why not enter the RSPCA Young Photographer Awards.

Open to anyone aged 18 and under, the competition – now in its 30th year – offers a great chance to showcase your talent and be recognised by some of the country’s top animal photographers. 

Photos can be taken on a range of different cameras – including smartphones! – with eleven categories to choose from including Picture Perfect Pets, Portfolio, Instagram – and new for 2020, ‘Small World.’ which has been launched to reflect changes to everyday life under lockdown. Age groups include under 12, 12 to 15, and 16 to 18, with an  ‘Overall Winner’ chosen from the winners of each category.

Judges this year include wildlife photographer and TV presenter Chris Packham and award-winning wildlife photographer and filmmaker and BBC drone pilot Sam Rowley, among others.

Dragonfly by Kyle Moore

Judge, wildlife champion and RSPCA Vice-President Chris Packham said: “The Young Photographer Awards have always provided a unique creative outlet for young people with a real passion and talent for photography and animals, but particularly during this current difficult time with everyone in lockdown and self-isolating, we’re really hoping it will give many of them a fresh focus to create something amazing.

“Whether it’s that lucky snap taken on a whim outside a bedroom window that perfectly captures a wild animal, or a beautiful image taken after hours of patiently waiting for a hedgehog or badger to creep into your garden at dusk, we want to see them all.

“And it doesn’t have to be wildlife – why not capture your pet’s personality in a portrait or perhaps a more artistic portrayal of your furry, feathered or scaly companion?”

Chris Packham with winners 2019

For information on entering the RSPCA Young Photographer Awards go to – closing date 14th August 2020. Good luck!

Main image ‘Gotcha’ by Becca Jones, former winner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* 4+4=?